Six on Saturday – 27th April 2024

The weather weighs heavily upon the frustrated gardener and life in and out of the garden overwhelms this one, hence me missing a week’s blogging last week. It feels cold, it’s raining AGAIN, nothing will germinate successfully yet several things in the garden seem bafflingly early… these are confusing times. The garden soldiers on regardless. I should perhaps take a leaf out of its book and relinquish my pervasive need for control: as usual, the garden has a life lesson for us, if we are only open to receiving it.

Without further musing, here are six some from me. Six from Jim, our knowledgeable host, can be found here: https://gardenruminations.co.uk/2024/04/27/six-on-saturday-27-4-2024/ along with the rest of the SOS gang.

The gooseberries are setting fruit. This seems very early to me. I failed to prune them when I should have and now I have sprawling beasts. I have far too many bushes. Neither of us are even huge fans of gooseberries. I like a gooseberry fool but Chief Engineer is not a huge fan, though smothering most things in custard and/or crumble topping will usually persuade him to eat them. I should give some bushes away, really. Or open a nursery, but I suspect that is a truly thankless task!

Also seeming very early to me, strawberries flowering their socks off. Chief engineer diligently netted them last week. I am now anxiously patrolling, as the little wren has a habit of finding the tiniest of gaps and wandering in, however hard we try to pin down the entire edge. Fingers crossed for a good crop.

Potatoes coming through (and a fair few weeds too, in need of hoeing). Behind, Chief Engineer has put the nets on the walk-in fruit cage, just in time too since the blackcurrants are also setting fruit (and also seem very early to me, and these DID get pruned in good time). Despite this cage being harder to net well, the wren doesn’t seem to get stuck in here. Perhaps it’s just easier for her to get out of unaided!

Continuing on that theme of earliness (is that a word?) the geums seem to have opened early this year too. I like to see them alongside the bright pink corncockle and the lime green euphorbia oblongata, but I have some concerns that they will not all be in flower at the same time this year. Oh well, nothing I can do about that (except perhaps assiduously deadhead the geums in hope of prolonging their season…)

Quite seasonally appropriate, I believe, is the apple blossom, which is looking lovely on the two Golden Delicious trees (or Golden Just About Tolerable, as I prefer to call them). The prettiness of the blossom almost compensates for the thoroughly underwhelming fruit, which is adequate for a crumble but barely passable as an eating apple. Another thing I should replace, really, but I can’t bring myself to get rid of the existing ones, it seems such a waste.

I am not terribly fond of the camassias – the time they spend looking messy far outlasts the time they spend in peak performance. Yet they thrive in our rich moist soil, often to the detriment of their neighbours. That lilac-y blue does seem to shine on a dull grey day, though. Another year of me dithering about whether to bin them or not.

I’m feeling rebellious so I’m chucking in a 7th, to return slightly to the “is this early?” theme. Honeysuckle, granted in a sheltered sunny spot, but it seems quite early to me? Honestly I can’t tell any more, I seem to have lost all perception of what is normal. I suppose normality is subjective anyway.

The Under-Gardener has the right idea, I think. He’s staying indoors and dreaming of warmer days.

Published by Notes from the Under-Gardener

Keen amateur gardener, tending a large home garden growing flowers, fruit and veg, ably supported by husband and dog.

28 thoughts on “Six on Saturday – 27th April 2024

  1. I think that you have plenty going on in the garden, perhaps this is natures way of ‘freshening’ things up with a few changes in her ‘house’. Early plants here, late ones there, rain and cool now, hot and dry later? Perhaps. Ours is only to ponder while the plants get on with it.

    Hope the gardening mojo returns in time.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The miserable, cold, damp weather has been getting to me too but on the odd occasion the limited sunshine has coincided with free time I’ve enjoyed it when I’ve made myself get out there! As Rosie says, hopefully your gardening mojo will return.
    Is there someone local who would appreciate the plants you don’t? Then you’d have a cast-iron excuse to buy more!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve seen suggestions of putting them outside the house with a sign saying “free, please take some” but I’m not sure how successful it would be where I live and, of course, you may feel the same.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Gooseberries aren’t extraordinary, but in jam mixed with red currants, it’s great and delicious.
    Your strawberries are very beautiful and even ahead of mine. They are also well flowered.
    I could have added geum flowers this week, it’s true. Another Wow for camasses. I like them because they add a touch of bright colour for a gloomy spring

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re right about the camassias Fred, though I have mixed feelings about them they are a lovely flash of colour on a dull day. The strawberries have really taken me by surprise. They were given to me by a lady who farms near us, and lives on a hill which is quite exposed, she has quite tricky growing conditions – perhaps she has bred super-tough strawberries! We shall see. I hadn’t thought of mixing gooseberries with redcurrants and always have more redcurrants than I can use – this is a fabulous idea, thank you! I think Chief Engineer might be tempted with a gooseberry and redcurrant crumble, too!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Everything mostly seems early this year, although your honeysuckle does seem very early indeed. The orange geum looks great with the forget-me-nots. It’s been an odd spring. My gardening mojo returned when it warmed up a bit (briefly) – confirming I’m a fairweather gardener.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I do think I become more and more of a fair weather gardener as I get older and I feel the cold and the aches and pains more! It certainly has been an odd spring. I love orange and blue together. To be honest I love orange with everything. I keep trying to get drifts of California poppies but I only ever end up with the odd one here and there, and never where I sowed them!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I leave the door of my fruit cage open for the birds to pick off insects right up until the fruit starts to ripen. Not that it stops gooseberry sawfly stripping my bushes bare and I invariably find there are holes in the netting need fixing or the birds will be in anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s interesting Jim, I hadn’t thought of doing that, perhaps we were a bit too swift to net! Gooseberry sawfly is a menace isn’t it? Ive tried everything but by far the best treatment is squishing by hand every single one I find on a daily patrol. Disgusting but strangely satisfying! I once found a dead sparrow in one of our cages and it upset me so much I’ve been paranoid about trapping another bird ever since.

      Like

    1. The cages were such a good purchase – we’ve had them years and they make life so much easier, I’d definitely recommend. The chrome tube frames stay in place all year round and we just take the nets off from the end of the fruiting season to the start of the next one, to let the birds in to get pests.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. What a fetching combination: the orange geum and the blue forget me not. I love gooseberry jam, and make that, and by coincidence I am making gooseberry and apple crumble with some of the remaining gooseberries from the garden. The undergardener has the right idea.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love forget-me-nots, though Chief Engineer hates them. The Under-Gardener is in the dog house, having demanded nocturnal toilet excursions in the middle of the night for two nights running – perhaps he actually needs to spend less time asleep during the day!

      Like

  7. You are way ahead of me with the camassias  and the geums. Mine are just producing spikes / buds. And yes, whilst the camassia flowers are quite lovely I don’t have enough to create that swathe of blue and the leaves are very messy – in fact for the 2nd year running the leaves look like they have been attacked by rust. Is that possible?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Very possibly a rust I’d say – it might just be my imagination but I find strappy-leaved things more prone to rust than other forms. It’s the leaves of camassias that frustrate me – they become a slimy floppy mess then leave a hole in the border for the summer (I assume the leaves need to be left on the plant until they die, to feed next year’s growth, like most bulbs…) I have found my camassias spread almost too enthusiastically, I think they just love the wet rich soil. I have plenty to spare if you’d like to add to yours! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment